Academics‎ > ‎

Science








Science Paths Through FCHS



Ideas for Science “Pathways”*

General Path, Standard Diploma

9th: Earth Science/Pre-AP ES

10th: Biology/Pre-AP Bio

11th: Ecology or Astronomy

Interested in Medical Field, Advanced Diploma

9th: Biology/Pre-AP Bio

10th: Chemistry/Pre-AP Chem

11th: AP Bio or Dual-Enrollment Bio 101 & 102

12th: Dual-Enrollment Anatomy & Physiology


General Path, Advanced Diploma – Option A

9th: Earth Science/Pre-AP ES

10th: Biology/Pre-AP Bio

11th / 12th: Chemistry or Physics


Interested in Engineering, Advanced Diploma

9th: Biology/Pre-AP Bio

10th: Chemistry/Pre-AP Chem

11th/12th: AP Physics or AP Computer Science


General Path, Advanced Diploma – Option B

9th: Biology/Pre-AP Bio

10th: Chemistry/Pre-AP Chem

11th/12th: Physics or  AP Environmental Science (earn physical science credential)

Standard Diploma = 3 science courses in any field


Advanced Diploma = 4 science courses in 3 fields (biological, chemical, physical)

* There are many other courses available in the Science Program of Studies.  There are currently (4) Advance Placement Sciences ( all culminating in a national test): AP Biology, AP Chemistry, AP Environmental Science & AP Physics

Additionally there are dual enrollment courses for students either looking to get a head start on college courses or who wish to “try” the rigor.  Dual enrollment courses enrolled through Virginia Western Community College currently include: College Biology 101 & 102, College Chemistry 111, College Human Anatomy & Physiology.

For more information on specific classes and their requirements you can look in your program of studies provided to students through the school, or you can use the online program of studies linked on the Guidance page.













Resources:












Template Created by Derrick Waddell
West Point High School
Welcome to FCHS Science
Department Chair 
Amy Chattin - amy.chattin@frco.k12.va.us

























Science Faculty


TEACHER

SUBJECT

Email

Websites /other links

Albano, Dorian

Biology

dorian.etter@frco.k12.va.us


Bennett, Jennifer

Chemistry AP Physics

jennifer.bennett@frco.k12.va.us

https://frco.blackboard.com/webapps/login/


Chattin, Amy

AP Biology,  College Biology-- Dept. Chair

amy.chattin@frco.k12.va.us https://frco.blackboard.com/webapps/login/


Fasick, Cassidy

Biology

cassidy.fasick@frco.k12.va.us

tinyurl.com/fasickgenbio

Gray, Austin

Biology

austin.gray@frco.k12.va.us

https://canvas.instructure.com


  Kaase, Troy

Physics, Biology II

troy.kaase@frco.k12.va.us


Lash, Frances

Earth Science

frances.lash@frco.k12.va.us

https://sites.google.com/frco.k12.va.us/francesplash/home


McGeorge, Alicia

Biology

Ecology

AP Env Sci

alicia.mcgeorge@frco.k12.va.us


Mullins, Ben

Chemistry   

benjamin.mullins@frco.k12.va.us


Oliver, Melody

Earth Science

Astronomy

melody.oliver@frco.k12.va.us


Rucker, Simon

Biology Biology II

simon.rucker@frco.k12.va.us


Schmachtenberg, William (Dr. S)

Earth Science

bill.schmachtenberg@frco.k12.va.us

https://sites.google.com/a/frco.k12.va.us/william-schmachtenberg/home

Shelton, Barry

Ecology Sports Anatomy

barry.shelton@frco.k12.va.us


Sigmon, Ashly

Biology

ashly.sigmon@frco.k12.va.us


Spivey, Cara

Chemistry, College Chemistry

cara.spivey@frco.k12.va.us

https://frco.blackboard.com/webapps/login/

https://sites.google.com/frco.k12.va.us/fchschemsquad/home

Start, Brenda

Earth Science, Astronomy

brenda.start@frco.k12.va.us


Wiggonton, Don

Earth Science

donald.wiggonton@frco.k12.va.us


Young, Tina

College Biology, College Human Anatomy & Physiology

tina.young@frco.k12.va.us

https://frco.blackboard.com/webapps/login/