Academics‎ > ‎

Science


Welcome
To The FCHS
Science Webpage!
Department Chair - Amy Chattin - amy.chattin@frco.k12.va.us





Helpful Resources

Bozeman Science                              Khan Academy
        
                     
           

Fact Monster                               Science Games

                       
Articles on nearly every science topic    Games through the nobelprize.org website

Virginia Department of Education website: http://www.doe.virginia.gov/testing/sol/standards_docs/science/




  • The highest temperature produced in a laboratory was 920,000,000 F (511,000,000 C) at the Tokamak Fusion Test Reactor in Princeton, NJ, USA.


  • A mosquito has 47 teeth.



Advanced Placment
Advanced placement or AP courses are college level courses offered at Franklin County. These courses allow students to challenge themselves by taking courses equivalent to the class that would be offered in college. These classes have an end of year test known as the AP Exam. AP Exam are tests administered by The College Board. Students have the potential to receive college credit for passing the AP Exam. 






  • The human body has enough fat to produce 7 bars of soap.











  • There are more living organisms on the skin of a single human being than there are human beings on the surface of the earth.







Science Paths Through FC
For more information on specific classes and their requirements you can look in your program of studies provided to students through the school, or you can use the online program of studies linked below.



  • A hippopotamus may seem huge but it can still run faster than a man.


  • Seventy percent of the dust in your home consists of shed human skin





Teachers
 TEACHER NAME
SUBJECT  EMAIL
 Albano, DorianBiologydorian.etter@frco.k12.va.us
 Barrell, CarlaAP Environmental Science/ Earth Sciencecarla.barrell@frco.k12.va.us
 Bennett, JenniferChemistry, AP Chemistryjennifer.bennett@frco.k12.va.us
 Bumgardner, CurtisChemistry/Biologycurtis.bumgardner@frco.k12.va.us
 Chattin, AmyAP Biology, Biology II -- Dept. Chairamy.chattin@frco.k12.va.us
 Fasick, Cassidy Biology/Earth Sciencecassidy.fasick@frco.k12.va.us
 Kaase, TroyPhysics, Biology IItroy.kaase@frco.k12.va.us
Lowe, Alicia Biology/ Ecologyalicia.lowe@frco.k12.va.us
 Mullins, Ben Biology     benjamin.mullins@frco.k12.va.us
Oliver, MelodyEarth Science/Astronomymelody.oliver@frco.k12.va.us
Rucker, SimonBiologysimon.rucker@frco.k12.va.us
Schmachtenberg, William (Dr. S)Earth Sciencebill.schmachtenberg@frco.k12.va.us
 Shelton, BarryEcology, Sports Anatomybarry.shelton@frco.k12.va.us
 Sigmon, AshlyBiologyashly.dowdy@frco.k12.va.us
 Start, BrendaEarth Sciencebrenda.start@frco.k12.va.us
 Wiggonton, DonEarth Sciencedonald.wiggonton@frco.k12.va.us
 Young, TinaCollege Biologytina.young@frco.k12.va.us
Template Created by Derrick Waddell
West Point High School